Tags

,

It may have become apparent by now that I appreciate alliteration.

I don’t love trawling through dozens of journal articles without really knowing how to find what I’m looking for. It’s my fault, really. I’m adamant that I want my project to have the best possible statistical analysis. In my case, that will mean Bayesian inference. I’m committed. I’m so commited. I’m even sitting in on a Bayesian data analysis course at uni, even though I haven’t started my studies yet, and will probably sit through it again when I’ve actually started.

But I’m trying to write my research proposal, and no one has used Bayesian analysis in my area of insecticides. Why not? I don’t know. Too hard? Maybe. All the papers I’ve read for the science bit have stats, but they go as far as a student t-test then stop. And that’s great, in a way, because it means this part of my research will be original, but I still need a starting point.

My attitude is “I have a maths degree, and I’m not stopping at a t-test.” My associate supervisor is a brilliant Bayesian statistician. It would be such a waste to not do the best Bayesian stats I can do. But to get there I first need a reference paper for my research proposal.

Guess I just keep trawling. Thank goodness for Google Scholar!

